As we position Ontario Water Consortium (OWC) for the future, we have recently added new members to our Advisory Board. We would also like to acknowledge an update with regards to our Biosolids Working Group.

Advisory Board

Upon completing the first phase of Southern Ontario Water Consortium (SOWC) and commissioning all infrastructure in 2014, a new Advisory Board was established. Its membership was primarily comprised of Vice-Presidents Research or equivalent from each of our post-secondary partners, as well as the Grand River Conservation Authority, City of Guelph and City of London. The Advisory Board was further supported by the creation of an Industry Advisory Committee and the continuation of the Platform Management Committee (research leads) from the first phase, each of which had a sitting member on the Board.

Recently rebranding as Ontario Water Consortium (OWC), we have made some key changes to the Advisory Board membership to ensure continued input from industry and academia as we build on the success of OWC. In addition to the permanent members, four new 2-year rotating positions have been created – two for water technology company representatives and two for faculty representatives. John Vogan of Arcadis Canada, board member since 2011 and representative for the former Industry Advisory Committee has stepped down as of December 2019. OWC thanks John for sharing his knowledge and expertise over the past 8 years. Professor Glen Van Der Kraak, representative of the former Platform Management Committee, has agreed to continue to serve for 1 year as a rotating faculty representative.

Cindy Dongxin Hu of A.U.G. Signals and Kevin Bossy of Bishop Water Technologies have been appointed as technology company representatives.

OWC held an open call for applications for the faculty position. OWC is happy to announce that Zoe Li, Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering at McMaster University will be joining the Advisory Board as the second faculty appointment. We thank all who applied and send our congratulations to Zoe, Cindy and Kevin. We are confident that these appointments will be a welcome complement to the Board and look forward to working with them.

Biosolids Working Group

In 2016, OWC created the Biosolids Working Group recognizing a major opportunity for innovation in the province’s technology and research strengths and government priorities for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and recovering resources from wastewater.

After 3 years as Chair of the Working Group, Phil Sidwha of Orgatec Energy Inc. will step down from this position but will remain a member of the group. We thank Phil for his dedication during his time as Chair and are glad to retain his expertise on the Working Group. The group members voted to instate Youngseck Hong (Senior Technology Leader, SUEZ Water Technologies & Solutions), who previously held the position of Vice-Chair, as the new Chair of the Biosolids Working Group. Ted Mao (VP Research, Trojan Technologies) was chosen to be the group’s Vice-Chair. Congratulations to Youngseck and Ted! We look forward continuing the important work of the group under new leadership.